Board of Trustees

Tena koutou, tena koutou, tena koutou katoa,

Upper Hutt School’s Board of Trustees is made up of elected parents Simon Hicks, Katrina Murray, Andrew Giles, Murray Ingram and Leah Cooper (Chairperson). Alicia and Fati Tagoai have also been co-opted onto the board, until the next election date in mid 2019. Jo Grant, as the Principal, is the Chief Executive of the Board, with Lee Ewington our staff representative.

Student achievement is the Board of Trustee’s main priority. We work at a strategic level and monitor student progress against our annual targets, as well as overseeing the management of staff, property and finances. Jo Grant manages the day to day running of the school, while the Board of trustees governs the strategic directions, setting the vision for the school. We are bound by the Education Act 1989, which defines the role of the Board.

The board of trustees develops a School Charter which is a binding agreement with the Ministry of Education. The charter includes our mission, aims and directions. Our school whakatauki is;  Kia tupu ai enei kakano hei rakau nui. At Upper Hutt School our vision is; A confident, connected and actively involved community of lifelong learners. Our school focuses on the P.R.I.D.E. values of Partnership, Respect, Integrity, Determination and Empathy.

Every three years’ elections are held for the parent trustee positions. These will be held again in 2019. There is further information regarding the board’s role, available on the New Zealand School Trustee Association’s (NZSTA) website.  

If you are interested in standing for the board in the future, please do not hesitate to contact Leah at

Leah Cooper
Upper Hutt School Board of Trustees

To View our latest Financial Statement and Audit Report click here

  • Jo Grant

    Tumuaki / Principal
  • Leah Cooper

  • Lee Ewington

    Staff Representative
  • Andrew Giles

    Board Member
  • Katrina Hamilton

    Board Member
  • Simon Hicks

    Board Member
  • Murray Ingram

    Board Member
  • Fati Tagoai

    Board Member
  • Alicia Tagoai

    Board Member